Baku, daily life

just a normal neighborhood

On my way home I try to take different routes and discover new places in Baku. Big cars – often from Germany, such as Mercedes, BMW or Audi – are quite a common find in neighborhoods with narrow lanes. While car wash shops are abundant in Baku, not the automated type, but mainly manual washing, car owners seem to enjoy to wash their precious status symbol.

I was strolling in this narrow lane when I saw the pink girl at some distance, looking curiously – not at me, but the car washers. I had not yet seen them, and my attention was on the rainbow palette of clips waiting for laundry. Only, when I got to the corner I saw the two young men whose evening pleasure was to wash the already shiny Mercedes.

I could still see the girl running away with her pink outfit bringing color to the grey neighborhood. Looking back the stream of foamy water is the only cue of the car wash just around the corner.